SPONSORED LINKS:

ever use an IDE?



REA D NE W PO STS


-Sponsors-



-Other Forums-

  Facebook Group
  Madhouse Radio new
  BinRev new
  Defcon Forums new
  KDK Pranks
  Ownage Pranks new
  Jerky Boys
  Underground News new
  Jackulator 9000 new


-phonelosers.org-

  Main Site
  Prank Calls
  Shoutcast Stream
  Podcasts
  PLA Wiki
  PLA YouTube
  PLA Twitter
  PLA Tumblr


REA D NE W PO STS



Support PLA by doing your Amazon searching here:

Also, visit PLAs Amazon Store

Author Topic: ever use an IDE?  (Read 5590 times)

Offline PHISH-PHREAK

  • PLA Minion
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
  • 1337 13V3L: +68/-26
    • 954 Phone Losers
Re: ever use an IDE?
« Reply #15 on: February 11, 2010, 03:47:25 AM »
I think a video would be a good idea, just screen capture and use a mic or a jim.

Offline ApprenticePhreak

  • PLA Junkie
  • *****
  • Posts: 801
  • 1337 13V3L: +45/-12
Re: ever use an IDE?
« Reply #16 on: February 11, 2010, 07:07:52 AM »
Strawberry Perl is awesome.  Nod, I can help you, seriously.  My Perl book is an extremeeeeely easy paper to go by, that's why I made it.  It only covers intro basics and gives lots of analogies and such.  Plus, I can answer any questions you have too! 

Ironically enough, yeah, he speaks the truth on his papers.

trevelyn is better than all of us.

 :'(

Offline Nod

  • Quando omni flunkus moritati
  • Elite Cactus Squad
  • Ninja Phone Loser
  • *****
  • Posts: 3724
  • 1337 13V3L: +210/-138
  • 212-389-1318
    • The Unnamed Forum: New And Improved!
Re: ever use an IDE?
« Reply #17 on: February 11, 2010, 10:51:51 PM »
I can't even figure out how to use strawberry. G-d I'm fucking lame.
I HATE the bridge.
Meme Roth is a Food Nazi Cunt

Offline trevelyn

  • Administrator
  • Elite Cactus Squad
  • Ninja Phone Loser
  • *****
  • Posts: 1687
  • 1337 13V3L: +183/-22
  • He likes cans and taking pictures in cans!
    • WeakNet Labs
Re: ever use an IDE?
« Reply #18 on: February 12, 2010, 05:40:57 AM »
Well, DOS doesn't allow you to use Perl "one-liners" which are one line programs, so I can't think of a good example for you to do.  Also, I just found out the hard way, that Windows 7 dropped the program "EDIT"  Yeah, why would Windows users need a text editor to use in DOS anyways, right? Fucking Microsoft, what a bunch of idiots.

You will have to open notepad.

in notepad, type out:

Code: [Select]
print "Hello World!\n";
exit;

And hit "File" + "Save As" and then save it on your Desktop as "perl.txt"

Now, hit the WINDOWS button and the R button on your keyboard at the same time.  This should open the Run dialog box, for any version of Windows.  type out "CMD" then a command prompt will start.  in that DOS window, type:

Code: [Select]
cd Desktop
Then

Code: [Select]
perl perl.txt
And viola! You have written your first Perl program that ran the print() function!

P.S.
If you were running Linux, all you would have to do is open Terminal and type:

Code: [Select]
perl -e 'print "Hello World!\n";'
to get the same result.  Hehe, but Windows is much easier to use than Linux, right?

Offline Nod

  • Quando omni flunkus moritati
  • Elite Cactus Squad
  • Ninja Phone Loser
  • *****
  • Posts: 3724
  • 1337 13V3L: +210/-138
  • 212-389-1318
    • The Unnamed Forum: New And Improved!
Re: ever use an IDE?
« Reply #19 on: February 12, 2010, 12:23:49 PM »
So, what your saying is that I shouldn't have let notepad++ name it a .pl file?
I HATE the bridge.
Meme Roth is a Food Nazi Cunt

Offline Godot

  • Go away, PLA!
  • PLA Corporate Drone
  • *****
  • Posts: 427
  • 1337 13V3L: +34/-7
    • Godot's Website
Re: ever use an IDE?
« Reply #20 on: February 14, 2010, 12:38:22 PM »
You can do Perl can do one-liners in Windows. The only reason your example won't work is that Windows' CMD doesn't handle single quotes like the Linux shells. This works for me with Strawberry Perl on Windows Vista:

Code: [Select]
perl -e "print \"Hello World!\n\";"
Of course, it looks a lot worse like this, but it works.
"I bought a cactus and it died a week later... I was really depressed, I thought, 'Damn, I am less nurturing than a desert.'" -Demetri Martin

Offline trevelyn

  • Administrator
  • Elite Cactus Squad
  • Ninja Phone Loser
  • *****
  • Posts: 1687
  • 1337 13V3L: +183/-22
  • He likes cans and taking pictures in cans!
    • WeakNet Labs
Re: ever use an IDE?
« Reply #21 on: February 16, 2010, 03:00:49 PM »
You can do Perl can do one-liners in Windows. The only reason your example won't work is that Windows' CMD doesn't handle single quotes like the Linux shells. This works for me with Strawberry Perl on Windows Vista:

Code: [Select]
perl -e "print \"Hello World!\n\";"
Of course, it looks a lot worse like this, but it works.

haha! That's awesome!  You spent hours trying to figure that out didn you? :P

 

SPONSORED LINKS: