SPONSORED LINKS:

Does anyone here use Linux?



REA D NE W PO STS


-Sponsors-



-Other Forums-

  Facebook Group
  Madhouse Radio new
  BinRev new
  Defcon Forums new
  KDK Pranks
  Ownage Pranks new
  Jerky Boys
  Underground News new
  Jackulator 9000 new


-phonelosers.org-

  Main Site
  Prank Calls
  Shoutcast Stream
  Podcasts
  PLA Wiki
  PLA YouTube
  PLA Twitter
  PLA Tumblr


REA D NE W PO STS



Support PLA by doing your Amazon searching here:

Also, visit PLAs Amazon Store

Author Topic: Does anyone here use Linux?  (Read 27052 times)

Offline gangals

  • Merp?
  • PLA Nation Citizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1031
  • 1337 13V3L: +68/-31
  • ummm cacti
    • http://img116.imageshack.us/img116/1879/bagmanonfire4pb.jpg
Re: Does anyone here use Linux?
« Reply #15 on: January 09, 2007, 06:13:39 PM »
Bootloaders = LILO or Grub

Offline PHISH-PHREAK

  • PLA Minion
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
  • 1337 13V3L: +68/-26
    • 954 Phone Losers
Re: Does anyone here use Linux?
« Reply #16 on: January 09, 2007, 06:57:53 PM »
My freind just told me to use my windows boot cd to partion my hd and then at startup ill have a choice between the three. Has anyone tried that?

Offline gangals

  • Merp?
  • PLA Nation Citizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1031
  • 1337 13V3L: +68/-31
  • ummm cacti
    • http://img116.imageshack.us/img116/1879/bagmanonfire4pb.jpg
Re: Does anyone here use Linux?
« Reply #17 on: January 09, 2007, 07:59:47 PM »
Windows boot manager sucks balls...

Just make sure that when you load your OSs, load Windows first and make the partitions for the other OSs while you are making the Windows partition.
« Last Edit: January 10, 2007, 07:05:03 AM by gangals »

Offline fredsambo

  • Eldery & Confused PLA Junkie
  • *****
  • Posts: 74
  • 1337 13V3L: +6/-1
Re: Does anyone here use Linux?
« Reply #18 on: January 10, 2007, 06:59:12 AM »
Yeah, I would recommend using GRUB for a dual boot, as was mentioned the Winders boot loader is really only meant to boot Winders, of course.

As far as the codecs are concerned, you are running Ubuntu, right Phish-Phreak?

Quote
They can be tricky to install, and can be hard to fix if shit happens, but are the best way of switching between OS's

The above is quite true, Be careful.
« Last Edit: January 10, 2007, 07:01:24 AM by fredsambo »

Offline Raptor

  • OMG MOD wannabe
  • Ninja Phone Loser
  • ***
  • Posts: 1208
  • 1337 13V3L: +80/-52
  • We can be happy underground
Re: Does anyone here use Linux?
« Reply #19 on: January 10, 2007, 03:56:28 PM »
my friend is using a dell xps t600r, and there is no option during boot to enter system setup, or select boot drive. Is there some key combination thats not shown, is some kind of floppy disk or cd required, or is it just not supported all together. (You would think there would at least be a system setup though  :-\ )
Raptor\\\'s Random Reviews!

http://www.phonelosers.org/forums/index.php?board=30.0

Offline gangals

  • Merp?
  • PLA Nation Citizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1031
  • 1337 13V3L: +68/-31
  • ummm cacti
    • http://img116.imageshack.us/img116/1879/bagmanonfire4pb.jpg
Re: Does anyone here use Linux?
« Reply #20 on: January 10, 2007, 04:23:11 PM »
With a system that old it might not have an option to choose which media you would like to boot from while the computer POSTs. With Dells, for their BIOS try F1, F2, F10, F12, or DEL. When I don't know what the BIOS key is on a machine I'm working on, I just run my fingers back and forth over the F keys and the DEL button.

Offline PHISH-PHREAK

  • PLA Minion
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
  • 1337 13V3L: +68/-26
    • 954 Phone Losers
Re: Does anyone here use Linux?
« Reply #21 on: January 10, 2007, 08:07:42 PM »
I've agreed its not worth risking. Mostly because My TV out put won't run through my PC speakers in Ubuntu and I could figure out how to fix that. And also I couldn't back up my windows since my external HD is formatted as FAT32. I'm thinking about buying another internal HD and installing it on that though although I haven't had any luck finding laptop mini HDs

Offline gangals

  • Merp?
  • PLA Nation Citizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1031
  • 1337 13V3L: +68/-31
  • ummm cacti
    • http://img116.imageshack.us/img116/1879/bagmanonfire4pb.jpg
Re: Does anyone here use Linux?
« Reply #22 on: January 10, 2007, 08:34:43 PM »
although I haven't had any luck finding laptop mini HDs

2.5 inch laptop hard drives... ebay

Offline fredsambo

  • Eldery & Confused PLA Junkie
  • *****
  • Posts: 74
  • 1337 13V3L: +6/-1
Re: Does anyone here use Linux?
« Reply #23 on: January 11, 2007, 06:48:31 AM »
I've agreed its not worth risking. Mostly because My TV out put won't run through my PC speakers in Ubuntu and I could figure out how to fix that. And also I couldn't back up my windows since my external HD is formatted as FAT32. I'm thinking about buying another internal HD and installing it on that though although I haven't had any luck finding laptop mini HDs

Ah don't give up so quickly!  What video card do you have?  The problem with Ubuntu is that it doesn't load proprietary drivers on install, you have to install them separtately, which isn't always easy.

First go to a terminal and do:

Code: [Select]
sudo nano /etc/apt/sources.list
You will see a list of repositories beginning with 'deb' and some of them are escaped using the # mark.  Delete the # in front of all of the repositiries that are escaped, and add a # mark to the one that says cd-rom in it, at the top of the page.  Then save.

Then do:

Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get update
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get upgrade
Then install Automatix, which provides the scripts that you'll need to load all of the drivers, in one easy to use program.  I find Automatix to be the easiest way to do this, although you can also install them from scratch.  Your video driver may be another issue, so we may have to hack you xorg.conf file!

Have fun!
« Last Edit: January 11, 2007, 07:01:00 AM by fredsambo »

Offline PHISH-PHREAK

  • PLA Minion
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
  • 1337 13V3L: +68/-26
    • 954 Phone Losers
Re: Does anyone here use Linux?
« Reply #24 on: January 11, 2007, 06:36:06 PM »
I'm just giving up. I'm just gonna find an Ubuntu like theme until I get another hd. Well I would switch over right now iff you know how to run exe's on Ubuntu. oh and does your ff in Ubuntu crash a lot? seems that every time I opened a site with flash it closed.

Offline Reverend Greed

  • PLA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 224
  • 1337 13V3L: +42/-7
Re: Does anyone here use Linux?
« Reply #25 on: January 12, 2007, 12:48:13 AM »
I've agreed its not worth risking. Mostly because My TV out put won't run through my PC speakers in Ubuntu and I could figure out how to fix that. And also I couldn't back up my windows since my external HD is formatted as FAT32. I'm thinking about buying another internal HD and installing it on that though although I haven't had any luck finding laptop mini HDs

Ah don't give up so quickly!  What video card do you have?  The problem with Ubuntu is that it doesn't load proprietary drivers on install, you have to install them separtately, which isn't always easy.

First go to a terminal and do:

Code: [Select]
sudo nano /etc/apt/sources.list
You will see a list of repositories beginning with 'deb' and some of them are escaped using the # mark.  Delete the # in front of all of the repositiries that are escaped, and add a # mark to the one that says cd-rom in it, at the top of the page.  Then save.

Then do:

Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get update
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get upgrade
Then install Automatix, which provides the scripts that you'll need to load all of the drivers, in one easy to use program.  I find Automatix to be the easiest way to do this, although you can also install them from scratch.  Your video driver may be another issue, so we may have to hack you xorg.conf file!

Have fun!

Hi there,

Just out of curiosity and tell me if I'm wrong - wouldn't it easier to do this:

Open  /etc/asound.conf and find:

Code: [Select]
# configuration file, you once again have access to unmixed analog output using
# the "analog" device.
pcm.!default {
type plug
## Uncomment the following to use "mixed-analog" by default
slave.pcm "dmix-analog"
## Uncomment the following to use (unmixed) "digital" by default
# slave.pcm "digital-hw"
## Uncomment the following to use "mixed-digital" by default
# slave.pcm "dmix-digital"
}

And change to this:

Code: [Select]
# configuration file, you once again have access to unmixed analog output using
# the "analog" device.
pcm.!default {
type plug
## Uncomment the following to use "mixed-analog" by default
# slave.pcm "dmix-analog"
## Uncomment the following to use (unmixed) "digital" by default
# slave.pcm "digital-hw"
## Uncomment the following to use "mixed-digital" by default
slave.pcm "dmix-digital"
}

"dmix-analog" line has been commented out and "dmix-digital" line has been uncommented from default.  This would eliminate video card and chipset association and thwart the use of proprietary drivers.

I love Ubuntu and the way root has been disallowed per se.  If I had it my way - I would disable "Is" by default, but that's just me. :)

Also, regarding this line:

Code: [Select]
sudo nano /etc/apt/sources.list
Not everybody has nano installed.  There's pico, vi, emacs, etc.  As a programmer I use emacs for almost everything in relation to the Linux environment except for C and C#.  I'm not saying you're wrong - I'm just saying.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2007, 12:53:03 AM by Reverend Greed »
Reboot America

Offline fredsambo

  • Eldery & Confused PLA Junkie
  • *****
  • Posts: 74
  • 1337 13V3L: +6/-1
Re: Does anyone here use Linux?
« Reply #26 on: January 12, 2007, 06:20:28 AM »
OK.  I use vi as a rule, but for someone who isn't familiar with it, it can be quite difficult.  And nano is installed by default in Ubuntu.  I'd never steer a n00b toward emacs either, not if I want them to stay with Ubuntu.

I recommended Automatix because it takes care of all propretiary drivers in one swoop.  Some folks are against propretiary drivers, and there are many ways to get around them, personally I don't care, as long as it works.

But whatever floats your boat.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2007, 06:24:08 AM by fredsambo »

Offline M-26-7

  • Skinniest Member of the PLA
  • PLA Junkie
  • *****
  • Posts: 811
  • 1337 13V3L: +40/-61
Linux
« Reply #27 on: January 14, 2007, 08:03:15 AM »
Thought I'd start a Linux forum.
I'm kind of a newb at linux, but I need a different distribution of linux.
Anyone know how to get Slackware 11 cds for freee?

Offline M-26-7

  • Skinniest Member of the PLA
  • PLA Junkie
  • *****
  • Posts: 811
  • 1337 13V3L: +40/-61
Re: Does anyone here use Linux?
« Reply #28 on: January 14, 2007, 09:17:04 AM »
I'm the T600R guy. I figured it out a few days ago. If anyone experiences like problems this will probably work on all windows comps.
1. press delete immediately at start-up
2. countinue pressing till you get to the settings screen.
3. go to boot
4. change default boot drive to ATAPI cd drive
5. you're good!

Offline Reverend Greed

  • PLA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 224
  • 1337 13V3L: +42/-7
Re: Linux
« Reply #29 on: January 14, 2007, 06:46:53 PM »
Thought I'd start a Linux forum.
I'm kind of a newb at linux, but I need a different distribution of linux.
Anyone know how to get Slackware 11 cds for freee?

Is there a reason why you can't go here:

http://slackware.cs.utah.edu/pub/slackware/slackware-11.0-iso/slackware-11.0-install-d1.iso

And burn the ISO file to a CD as a bootable?
Reboot America

 

SPONSORED LINKS: